Gallery and Videos

 The 1991 Seagram Grand National was the 145th renewal of the Grand National horse race that took place at Aintree Racecourse near Liverpool, England, on 6 April 1991.

It was the last Grand National to be sponsored by Seagram, a Canadian distillery corporation that had begun sponsoring the world-famous steeplechase in 1984. The race was won by a horse named Seagram, ridden by Nigel Hawke, in a time of nine minutes and 29.9 seconds

Nigel Hawke

Nigel Hawke and Seagram, winner of the 1991 Seagram Grand National at Aintree

Commentator Peter O’Sullevan describes the closing furlongs: 

“And it’s Garrison Savannah being chased all the time by Seagram, Garrison Savannah by four lengths as they come to the elbow, from Seagram who hasn’t given up! Garrison Savannah, with Seagram putting in a tremendous run! Seagram is beginning to get up on the nearside, Seagram has taken it up and he’s going to win the National! Seagram, a first ride for Nigel Hawke, has won the National!”

Fast Tube by Casper


1991 Seagram Grand National winner Seagram ridden by Nigel Hawke.

Thorne Farm Racing Gallery

Thorne Farm Racing Videos

You may need to sign up to to view the videos (this is a free service)

video Master Neo wins the Wychwood Hobgoblin Beginners’ Chase at Uttoxeter November 2012
video Anay Turge wins the Follow Totepool On Facebook And Twitter Novices’ Hurdle at Newton Abbot June 2013
video Anay Turge wins the Bulmers No. 17 Handicap Chase at Uttoxeter December 2012
videoMister Wiseman wins the Quicksilverslots Get Up To 200 Freeplays Handicap Chase at Fontwell November 2013
video Mister Wiseman wins the Marston’s Pedigree Handicap Chase at Uttoxeter November 2011
video Vintage Fabric wins the South West Racing Club Handicap Hurdle at Newton Abbot April 2011
videoSeagram wins the 1991 Seagram Grand National at Aintree ridden by Nigel Hawke